File Restore

From wikihelp
(Redirected from Bkmanager)
Jump to: navigation, search

Contents

Introduction to File Restore

File Restore allows you to restore your website’s content from a series of time based periods (one hour, one day, etc.). While we highly recommend that you always keep local copies of your website’s content, File Restore offers a convenient method for restoring it without having to use your local backups.

Please note that this application has the potential to overwrite existing files during a restore operation. To ensure you are aware of this possibility File Restore requires that you confirm the details of a restore operation before restoring content.

Restoring your website content

If you need to restore parts of your website content, select the “File Restore” application from the WebsiteOS “Website Management” menu.

Before setting up your restore job, File Restore requires that you acknowledge a warning concerning keeping local backups of your site content and about the possibility of overwriting files. Once you have read the warning, click the “Accept” button to continue.

After clicking the accept button, you have to choose a time period from which to restore content. Select a time from the drop down list and click the “Next” button to continue.

Once a time period has been selected, you must select the directories and files that you want to restore and select the location that you want them to be restored to. The “Select files to restore” list allows you to browse your selected time period and to select the files you want to restore. The “Restore files to” list allows you to select a directory to restore your selected files to. (Note: files will be restored to the directory you are in, not the directory that is selected.) Click the “Restore->” button to start the restore operation.

After clicking the “Restore->” button, a summary of the restore operation is displayed. You are warned that files being restored will overwrite existing files with the same name. After reviewing the details of the operation, click the “Confirm” button to complete the operation.

Once the selected directories and files have been restored, File Restore will display a summary of the operation. Click the “Done” button to close File Restore.

Directory browsing issues

While most browsers will allow you to double click a directory in the “Select files to restore” and “Restore files to” lists to view its contents, it is possible your browser will not support this function. If your browser will not open a directory by double clicking it, select a directory and click the list’s “Change Dir” button.

How to restore entire directories

File Restore can restore entire directories, including subdirectories. You can restore your entire public directory if necessary.

This is done the same way that all other file restore operations are done. Select a time period, select the directories you want to restore and select the location that you want them to be restored to. The “Select files to restore” list allows you to browse your selected time period and to select the files you want to restore. The “Restore files to” list allows you to select a directory to restore your selected files to. (Note: files will be restored to the directory you are in, not the directory that is selected.)

Click the “Restore->” button to start the restore operation.

Viewing the history of restore operations

File Restore keeps a log of your restore operations. To view this log, click the File Restore “History” tab.

Personal tools
Namespaces

Variants
Actions
NAVIGATION
Design
Website Tools
Ecommerce
E-mail
Domains
SEO and Analytics
Advanced Tools
Website Add-Ons
Online Marketing
Social
Webmail
Applications